On Wednesday 3rd of December during an award ceremony in London the Videotech Innovation Awards were handed out to the winners in their respective areas. ODMedia Group (Sjef Pijnenburg) was shortlisted for the Outstanding Digital Achievement Award and we are very happy to announce we won!

Sports streaming pioneer DAZN took the trophy for OTT service of the Year, while MEO and Partner jointly won the prize for TV App of the Year.

Partner also featured in the individual award categories, with the company’s head of TV and new media, Ronen Gutmanowitz, picking up the award for Video Technologist of the Year for his work in creating a platform capable of easily integrating all service providers.

The other individual winners included Sjef Pijnenburg, who won the Outstanding Digital Achievement category for taking ODMedia to a position as leading content distribution technology provider and preferred partner of Netflix, Amazon, iTunes, YouTube and others.

Julien Signes, founder of video compression pioneer Envivio, a pioneer of MPEG-4 and software-based processing, and currently head of the video network business at Synamedia, took home the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Viaccess-Orca secured the award for Advanced TV Innovation of the Year for its Anti-Piracy Centre, while Netgem took home the award for Advanced TV Service of the Year for Netgem.tv.

The Cloud service Innovation of the Year category was won by Make.TV for its Live Video Cloud platform for news, while TiVo scooped the Next Gen Advertising Award for its Sponsored Discovery Solution.

Synamedia won the OTT TV Technology of the Year Award for its  Smart Rate Control’s content adaptive encoding for live streaming in addition to Signes taking home the Lifetime Achievement award. In a triple for Synamedia, the company also took home the award for AI and Machine Learning Innovation of the Year for Credentials Sharing Insight. 

Telekom Slovenije won the UX Award for its Smart Living and Entertainment Platform, while Red Bee Media won in the Live-streaming Initiative of the Year category.

Nagra took home the Pay TV Service Innovation of the Year award for TVkey Cloud. Polish pay TV operator Cyfrowy Polsat won in the Hybrid Video Innovation of the Year category for Evobox HD in partnership with Irdeto.

In addition to the winners, the following shortlisted entries achieved commendations: Kaltura for its Flipkart Videos launch in the Cloud Service Innovation of the Year category; Vionlabs for its content discovery platform in the UX Award category; Dejero/Musion 3D/Vodafone Romania for live broadcasting over 5G in the Live-streaming Initiative of the Year category and United Cloud for EON Smart Boxes in the Pay TV Service Innovation of the Year category.

Source: Digital TV Europe

Leave a Reply